This page needs JavaScript activated to work.

Joshua Weilerstein

Artistic Director, Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne

  • Joshua Weilerstein is the Artistic Director of the Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne, where his contract has been extended through the 2020/21 season. Weilerstein enjoys a flourishing guest conducting career and has established a number of close relationships in both the U.S. and Europe, including the Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen, Bergen Philharmonic, Royal Stockholm Philharmonic, Finnish Radio Symphony, New York Philharmonic, and the symphony orchestras of Baltimore, Detroit and Milwaukee, among others. Praised for “intense, eloquently moving and spectacularly knife-edge” performances, Weilerstein is highly sought after and respected for his enthusiasm and profound insight into composers spanning from Gesualdo to Rouse.

Read more
  • Highlights of Weilerstein’s 2020/21 season include a return to the London Philharmonic Orchestra in a live-streamed performance, three live-streamed programmes with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, his debut with the Gürzenich Orchestra Cologne, and return engagements with NDR Radiophilharmonie Hannover, Danish National Symphony, Oslo Philharmonic, Belgian National and Netherlands Philharmonic orchestras.

    Over the past six seasons, the Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne has thrived under Weilerstein’s leadership and cemented its reputation as one of Europe’s leading chamber orchestras. Weilerstein has greatly expanded the scope of the orchestra’s repertoire, and together they have released successful and critically acclaimed recordings, and toured throughout Europe, joined by soloists such as Juan Diego Florez, Lucas Debargue, and Albrecht Mayer.

    Born into a musical family, Joshua Weilerstein’s formative experience with classical music was as a violinist on tour to Panama and Guatemala with the Youth Philharmonic Orchestra of Boston, where the orchestra performed for thousands of young people who had never heard a live orchestra concert. This sparked a desire in Weilerstein to pursue a career in classical music. While pursuing his Master’s degree in violin and conducting at the New England Conservatory, Weilerstein won both the First Prize and the Audience Prize at the Malko Competition for Young Conductors in Copenhagen in 2009. He was subsequently appointed as Assistant Conductor of the New York Philharmonic, where he served from 2012-2015.

    Weilerstein is deeply committed to programming both traditional and contemporary repertoire and endeavours to present music from under-represented composers at each concert. He hosts a wildly successful classical music podcast called “Sticky Notes” for music lovers and newcomers alike, which has been downloaded nearly a million times in 154 countries. An advocate for easy communication between the audience and the concert stage, Weilerstein encourages discussion about all aspects of classical music, programming, and the experience of concert-going.

    2020/21 season / 408 words. Not to be altered without permission.
    Please include links to Twitter: @JoshWeilerstein and Facebook: in all printed and digital use of biography.


View more
Loading performances...

Livestreams & Broadcasts

Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne | November 2020
Beethoven: Symphony No.1 in C major, Op.21
Click to watch on RTS
Available until 15 November 2021

Beethoven: Symphony No.2 in D major, Op.36
Click to watch on RTS
Available until 15 November 2021

Beethoven: Symphony No.3 in E-flat major, Op.55 'Eroica'
Click to watch on RTS
Available until 22 November 2021

Beethoven: Symphony No.4 in B-flat major, Op.60
Click to watch on RTS
Available until 29 November 2021

Beethoven: Symphony No.5 in C minor, Op.67
Click to watch on RTS
Available until 29 November 2021

Beethoven: Symphony No.6 in F major, Op.68 'Pastorale'
Click to watch on RTS
Available until 6 December 2021

Beethoven: Symphony No.7 in A major, Op.92
Click to watch on RTS
Available until 13 December 2021

Beethoven: Symphony No.8 in F major, Op.93
Click to watch on RTS
Available until 13 December 2021

Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra | November 2019
Haydn: Symphony No.94 in G major 'Surprise'
Shostakovich: Piano Concerto No.1 in C minor, Op.35 (with Ossi Tanner)
Caroline Shaw: Entr'acte
Beethoven: Symphony No.4 in B-flat major, Op.60
Click to watch on YLE Arena
Available until 7 November 2021

Orchestral highlights

Orchestre de Chambre de Lausanne (Artistic Director)
Verbier Festival Orchestra
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France
Orchestre National de Lyon
Deutsches Kammerphilharmonie
Radio-Sinfonieorchester Stuttgart des SWR
NDR Hannover
Czech Philharmonic
London Philharmonic Orchestra
BBC Symphony Orchestra
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra
Oslo Philharmonic
Danish National Symphony Orchestra
Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra
Stockholm Philharmonic Orchestra
Swedish Chamber Orchestra
Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra

Dvorak's Symphony No 7 saw Weilerstein impress with the discipline of his musical gestures and mature exposition of the works emotional arc. There was much to enjoy, including lovely emphasis to counter melody in the second movement, plenty of bounce in the third's underlying accompaniment and excellent control of its multiple musical threads.

Sydney Morning Herald

One of the most promising podium presences of his generation.

LA Times

Joshua Weilerstein is a revelation on the podium... he already has consolidated technique, depth of interpretation, marvellous gestures, absolute authority and the ability to soar through the Waltz rhythms. All reflected in the fact that the orchestra gave him their own ovation. It’s such a revelation…

Il Corriere Della Sera

Intermusica represents Joshua Weilerstein for worldwide general management.

Leyla Güneş
Associate Director
+44 20 7608 9927

Alice McDonough
Associate Artist Manager
+44 20 7608 9901

Francis Williams
Artist Manager (on temporary leave)
+44 20 7608 9918

If you have any queries, please fill in the form below, and we will be in touch soon

All artists


Mark Simpson


HK Gruber


Tim Mead

Piano accompanist

Roger Vignoles