This page needs JavaScript activated to work.

Mark Simpson

Composer in Association, BBC Philharmonic Orchestra / Artist in Residence, Lammermuir Festival 2018-19

  • Mark Simpson has now established himself as a major new voice on the international stage, hailed as a “revelation” (Bachtrack) and “standout” (Guardian). As a performer and composer, he is committed to new music and his compositions have been performed at the BBC Proms, Salzburg and Edinburgh International Festivals, Royal Festival Hall, Wigmore Hall and Barbican Centre London, amongst others.

Read more
  • Simpson performs worldwide as a clarinettist, both as a concerto soloist and chamber musician. Recent concerto highlights include the Lindberg Concerto with the BBC Philharmonic at the BBC Proms with Juanjo Mena, the Nielsen Concerto with the BBC Symphony Orchestra and Sir Andrew Davis, as well as appearances at the Southbank Centre’s International Chamber Music Series, Cologne Philharmonie, Salzburg, Edinburgh International and Aldeburgh Festivals with artists including Pierre-Laurent Aimard, Isabelle Faust, Antoine Tamestit, Danielle de Niese and Jean-Guihen Queyras. He has also appeared with orchestras including the Mozarteum Salzburg, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic, BBC Philharmonic, BBC National Orchestra of Wales, Northern Sinfonia, City of London Sinfonia and BBC Concert Orchestra, collaborating with conductors including Juanjo Mena, Vasily Petrenko, Gianandrea Noseda, Cristian Măcelaru, Sakari Oramo, Yan Tortelier, Baldur Brönnimann, HK Gruber, Clemens Schuldt and Martyn Brabbins. In 2015, Simpson was appointed Composer in Association at the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, a creative partnership that is in place for a period of four years.

    As a recitalist, he regularly performs at venues including the Wigmore Hall, Royal Festival Hall, Queen Elizabeth Hall, Mecklenburg-Vorpommern, BeethovenFest, Sage Gateshead, Cheltenham Festival, O’Modernt and Trasimeno Festivals, with premieres of works by Simon Holt, Jonathan Harvey and Edmund Finnis. In the 18/19 season, he will be Artist-in-Residence at the Lammermuir Festival, will curate a BBC Radio 3 chamber weekend at Saffron Hall in spring 2019 and will direct a performance with the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic’s Ensemble 10/10 including works by Henze and Simpson himself. The season culminates with the premiere of his own Clarinet Concerto with the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra and Ben Gernon in June 2019 at the Bridgewater Hall.

    As a composer Simpson’s most recent composition was his Cello Concerto (2018), premiered by Leonard Elschenbroich with the BBC Philharmonic and Clemens Schuldt, which was rapturously received: ‘Immediately compelling’ (Guardian); ‘irresistible’ (Times). His orchestral work, The Immortal (2015), an oratorio for baritone, chorus and symphony orchestra, was premiered by the BBC Philharmonic and Juanjo Mena at the Manchester International Festival, with support from Sky Arts Futures Fund and IdeasTap. In July 2016 The Immortal won the South Bank Sky Arts Award for Classical Music. Other orchestral works include Israfel (2014), premiered by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and Andrew Litton, sparks (2012), commissioned for the Last Night of the BBC Proms and A mirror-fragment… (2008), written for the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra.

    Previous composing highlights include the premiere of Simpson’s first opera, Pleasure, with a libretto by Melanie Challenger, commissioned by Opera North, the Royal Opera and Aldeburgh Music with performances in Leeds, Liverpool, Aldeburgh and London. Simpson also premiered a new trio for clarinet, piano and viola with Pierre-Laurent Aimard and Antoine Tamestit, commissioned by the Salzburg and Edinburgh International Festivals. He also gave the online premiere of Darkness Moves for solo clarinet, commissioned by the Borletti-Buitoni Trust.

    Born in Liverpool in 1988, Simpson became the first ever winner of both the BBC Young Musician of the Year and BBC Proms/Guardian Young Composer of the Year competitions in 2006. He went on to read Music at St. Catherine’s College, Oxford, graduating with first class honours, and studied composition with Julian Anderson at the Guildhall School of Music & Drama before being selected for representation by the Young Classical Artists Trust. Simpson was a BBC New Generation Artist from 2012-2014. He received a Borletti-Butoni Trust Fellowship in 2014 and the Royal Philharmonic Society Composition Award in 2010, and is a Visiting Fellow of Lady Margaret Hall, Oxford.

    Simpson’s first disc on NMC, Prism, featured him as performer; the second disc for NMC was released in 2016, featuring his own chamber and ensemble works including Night Music, a cello and piano piece written for Elschenbroich and premiered at the Wigmore Hall.

    Mark Simpson's compositions are published by Boosey & Hawkes.

    Mark plays on Peter Eaton International model clarinets since April 2004.

    2018-19 season / 681 words. Not to be edited without permission.


View more
Loading performances...


After Avedon (2017) 15’
Piano Trio

Darkness Moves (2016) 10’
Clarinet solo

Hommage à Kurtág (2016) 8’
Clarinet, viola and piano

Pleasure (2016) 70’
Chamber opera

The Immortal (2015) 35’
Solo baritone, semi-chorus, optional large chorus and orchestra

Israfel (2014) 12’
Full orchestra

Night Music (2014) 15’
Cello and piano

Un Regalo (2014) 8’
Cello solo

Exile (2013) 8’
Chorus a cappella

Geysir (2013) 8’
Wind ensemble (12 wind instruments and double bass)

Salvator Mundi (2013) 5’
Chorus a cappella

Windflower (2013) 4’
Oboe/cor Anglais solo

Echoes and Embers (2012) 7’
Clarinet and piano

Flute Trio (2012) 18’
Flute trio

Sparks (2012) 4’
Full orchestra

Lethe (2011) 10’
Solo trombone and ensemble

Los Proverbios (2011) 18’
Piano and string ensemble

Straw Dogs (2010/11) 9’
Mixed ensemble (14 players)

Barkham Fantasy (2009/10) 7’
Piano solo

Ariel (2009) 18’
Basset clarinet, violin, cello and piano

A mirror-fragment... (2008) 11’
Full orchestra

Nur Musik (2008) 8’
Oboe/cor Anglais and orchestra

Threads (2007) 9’
Full orchestra

Lov(escape) (2006)
Clarinet and piano

Septet (2005) 10’

Concerto repertoire

John Adams
Gnarly Buttons

Prelude, Fugue & Riffs

Unsuk Chin
Clarinet Concerto

John Corigliano
Clarinet Concerto

Brett Dean
Ariel’s Music

Clarinet Concerto
Five Bagatelles (for clarinet and strings)

Dreams and Prayers of Isaac the Blind

Clarinet Concerto

Simon Holt
Joy Beast

Magnus Lindberg
Clarinet Concerto

James Macmillan

Clarinet Concerto

Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra

Mark-Anthony Turnage
Riffs and Refrains

Michel Van der Aa

Clarinet Concerto No.2


Brabbins, Brönnimann, Daniel, Dean, de Ridder, Gernon, Gnann, Gruber, Litton, Măcelaru, Mena, Noseda, Oramo, Petrenko, Schuldt, Tortelier

Simpson proved to be something of a revelation in the [Lindberg] concerto…there appeared at times to be nothing that this hugely talented soloist could not do.... Highly impressive.


[His] honeyed tone wove weightlessly in amongst them... his sound was velvety at the bottom and his control seemed effortless. Classy stuff.

Herald Tribune

The Immortal is the most thrilling new choral work I have heard for years. With this piece, he and his librettist [Melanie Challenger] match the grandeur of those epic avant-garde choral pieces produced half a century ago by the likes of Penderecki, Stockhausen and the young Tavener... I immediately wanted to hear it again.

The Times

Intermusica represents Mark Simpson worldwide.

Lucy Saunders
Artist Manager
+44 20 7608 9936

Jessica Barra
Assistant Artist Manager
+44 20 7608 9942

If you have any queries, please fill in the form below, and we will be in touch soon

All artists


Mark Simpson


HK Gruber


Tim Mead

Piano accompanist

Roger Vignoles